Jones Park awarded "Field of the Year"

LOGO 2019


DATE:              March 9, 2023

TO:                  Local Media Outlets

FROM:             Brooke Franseen, Parks and Recreation Director

RE:                   Jones Park awarded “Field of the Year” award

Jones Park had been named “Field of the Year” by Wisconsin Sports Turf Managers Association. Every year one field in Wisconsin is chosen to receive this honor.

Josh Crandall of the City of Fort Atkinson Parks and Recreation Department submitted the application materials to Wisconsin Sports Turf Managers Association. Crandall was set to accept the award in Wisconsin Dells last month, but due to the weather the conference was cancelled.

“I’d like to give kudos to our parks staff, especially Josh Crandall, for putting so much care into the field and park,” said Brooke Franseen, Director of Parks and Recreation for the City of Fort Atkinson. “Jones Park is truly a destination park in Fort Atkinson for many reasons.”

Jones Park was dedicated as “City Park” in 1897 with over 1,000 people attending an evening ceremony. Every summer thousands of people continue to enjoy the beauty of Jones Park, whether using the pavilion, playgrounds or spending the day enjoying one of the best, baseball fields in Wisconsin. The field was first used for baseball on May 26, 1870 for a Fort Atkinson vs. Jefferson matchup. In 1934, the Green Bay Packers and Coach Lambeau defeated Fort Atkinson Blackhawks 28-7.

In 2022, 100 games were scheduled to be played at Jones Park. The park was used for Baseball Fest and for the first time ever Adult Recess. While other events took place around the park, the field was used for dodgeball and kickball. The park also hosts a monthly Cruise Night.

The seating capacity of the park is over 500 with 46 seats at first base, 76 seats at third base, 15 rows of grandstands with 240 seats per row, 14 picnic tables and room for over 100 lawn chairs.


IMG_1191 (1) - Copy (3)
Above, the Fort Atkinson Parks and Recreation Department was awarded the "Field of
the Year" award on March 9. Pictured from left:  Dave Radloff, Aquatics Specialist/Parks
Caretaker; JJ Yanke, Parks Maintenance Supervisor; Ron Novinska, WSTMA President
(Wisconsin Sports Turf Management Association); Brooke Franseen, Parks and Recreation
Director; Josh Crandall, Parks Caretaker; Mat Thompson, Parks/Aquatics Caretaker and
Rick Allard, Parks Crewleader.

IMG_1195 - Copy (2)

From left: Rick Allard, Dave Radloff, Larry Nickel, Josh Crandall, Mat Thompson and
Brooke Franseen.

IMG-7029 - Copy

343 - Copy